Banteer Gymkhana was the location of the RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix final last weekend. Course designer Tom Holden set a full up 1.35m track for the 37 starters, with faults spread throughout the track.

13 horse and rider combinations progressed through to the jump-off where league leader Francis Connors was triple handed. It was a busy few days for Francis as he was competing in Lanaken at the World Young Horse Jumping Championships and only flew back on Saturday night to compete in the final on Sunday.

Young rider Nicholas Connors off the back of a recent win in the Munster Grand Prix series at his local show Dungarvan was also double handed.

It was a fiercely contested jump-off, but it was Nicholas Connors and Abordable Du Talus who came out on top beating Tholm Keane and Delano W into second place by 1.04seconds.

It has been a great series for Nicholas who not only won the final but was also crowned leading young rider of the league for 2018. Nicholas now heads back to college to complete his second year of veterinary medicine.

Francis Connors was crowned overall Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league champion for a second year in a row. It was a successful season for Connors and HVL Consun having won two and also runner up in two legs over the summer.


Full Result:

League Leader: Francis Connors

Leading Young Rider: Nicholas Connors

Final Leg:

Rider Name Animal Name Owner Name Flt1 Time 1 Flt2 Time 2 Place Points
Nicholas D. Connors Abordable Du Talus Ann Connors C 80.59 C 42.25 1 10
Tholm Keane Delano W Caroline Teltsch C 81.98 C 43.29 2 8
Nicholas D. Connors Lantino 31 Ann Connors C 79.32 C 43.49 3 6
Patrick Hickey Quandurina Patrick Hickey C 80.79 C 44.12 4 4
Gemma Phelan Quality Villane Noel Ryan C 80.27 C 44.19 5 3
Maura Counihan Jnr Killerisk Minnie Maura Counihan Jnr C 82.11 C 44.41 6 3
Francis Connors Clarabelle Noreen Jordan C 82.17 C 45.15 7 3