May, 2021

العظام القوية والصحية هي أساس سلامة خيول السباق. حيث تثير إصابات الهيكل العظمي القلق في عالم منافسات الخيول. يتطلع المدربون والمالكون والأطباء البيطريون باستمرار إلى تحسين برامج التدريب وتحديد أي ثغرات محتملة في النظام الغذائي للخيول للمساعدة في تقليل الإصابات الهيكلية والوقاية منها. للقيام بذلك، من المهم فهم كيفية تكوين العظام وكيف تتكيف مع التدريب.

هناك العديد من العوامل التي تدخل في الحصول على عظام قوية (كالجينات مثلاً)، ومع ذلك، فإن العاملين الرئيسيين اللذين يمكننا التأثير فيهما هما التغذية والتدريب. لا يمكن أن تنمو عظام صحية قوية بدون نظام تدريب مناسب وتغذية جيدة. في هذه المقالة، سنلقي نظرة على نمو العظام وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر التغذية المثلى، بالإضافة إلى التمارين المناسبة، بشكل إيجابي على كثافة العظام.

تشكيل العظام وإعادة البناء

تتكون العظام من خلال عملية التعظم داخل الغضروف. هذا هو المكان الذي تتحول فيه الخلايا الغضروفية الرخوة إلى خلايا عظمية صلبة. يتكون العظم من ثلاثة أنواع من الخلايا ومصفوفة خارج الخلية تتكون بشكل أساسي من بروتين الكولاجين، والذي يشكل ما يصل إلى 30٪ من العظام الناضجة وهو عنصر أساسي في النسيج الضام والغضاريف. الأنواع الثلاثة للخلايا في العظام هي:

  • بانيات العظم: هي الخلايا التي تشكل المصفوفة خارج الخلية وهي مسؤولة عن نمو وتمعدن / تصلب العظام.
  • ناقضات العظم: تشارك في تفتت العظام، لذلك يمكن استبدالها بعظم جديد أقوى.
  • الخلايا العظمية: تعمل على الحفاظ على العظام وتقويتها عندما يتطلب العظم النمذجة أو إعادة البناء.


المحتوى المعدني للعظام هو قياس لكمية المعادن في العظام وهو طريقة دقيقة لقياس قوة العظام. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن حوالي 70٪ من قوة العظام ترجع إلى محتواها من المعادن بينما يشكل الكالسيوم 35٪ من بنية العظام. لا يكتمل نمو عظام الخيل بشكل كامل حتى يبلغ عمره حوالي 5-6 سنوات. لذلك، ورغم وصول الحصان إلى 94٪ من ارتفاعه الناضج عندما يكون عمره عام، إلا أنه يصل إلى 76٪ فقط من إجمالي المحتوى المعدني للعظام.

على الرغم من أن العظم الناضج قد يبدو خاملاً، إلا أنه في الواقع نسيج شديد الديناميكية، ويتكيف المحتوى المعدني للعظام باستمرار استجابة للتمرين والراحة، من خلال عملية تسمى إعادة التشكيل.

إعادة تشكيل العظام عملية معقدة تنطوي على العديد من الهرمونات والمواد المغذية. بشكل أساسي عندما تتقدم العظام الناضجة في العمر أو تتعرض للضغط، مثل التمارين الرياضية، تحدث بعض الأضرار. ينتج عن ذلك إزالة الخلايا ناقضة العظم لأنسجة العظام القديمة أو التالفة. يؤدي هذا بدوره إلى تحفيز خلايا بانيات العظم لإصلاح العظام عن طريق وضع الكولاجين والمعادن فوق المنطقة، وبالتالي تقوية العظام. تشير التقديرات إلى أن 5٪ من إجمالي كتلة عظام الحصان يتم استبدالها (إعادة تشكيلها) كل عام. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه أثناء عملية إعادة البناء يكون العظم في حالة ضعف. لذلك، إذا تجاوز الحمل على العظام خلال هذه الفترة المعدل الذي يمكن أن تتكيف به، يمكن أن تحدث إصابات مثل ألم القصبات.

عندما يركض حصان يضع ما يصل إلى ثلاثة أضعاف وزن جسمه بقوة على الأطراف السفلية. كلما زاد الحمل أو الضغط على العظم، زادت إعادة تشكيل العظم. في النهاية، سيؤدي ذلك إلى تكوين عظام جديدة أقوى.

أظهرت الدراسات أن التمارين الصحيحة يمكن أن تزيد من كثافة العظام في عظام المدفع والركبة وعظام السمسم، وهذا يمكن أن يساعد في تقليل احتمالية إصابة الهيكل العظمي. ومع ذلك، فإن كثافة التدريب هي المفتاح. تمرين منخفض الكثافة (خبب) رغم ضرورته لنمو العضلات، ثبت أنه يؤدي فقط إلى تغيير طفيف في كثافة عظام المدفع. في حين أن التدريب على سرعات عالية لفترة قصيرة من الوقت (العدو السريع)، بدلاً من الركض البطيء المتكرر، أظهر أنه يؤدي إلى زيادة كبيرة في كثافة العظام. تم تسليط الضوء على هذا في دراسة باستخدام جهاز الجري حيث ارتبطت فترات قصيرة من الركض بسرعة تزيد عن 27 ميلاً في الساعة (43 كم / ساعة) بزيادة 4-5٪ في كثافة عظم المدفع.

بينما تلعب التمارين دورًا محوريًا بشكل واضح في كثافة العظام، فإن القيام بالكثير من التمارين في وقت مبكر جدًا يمكن أن يكون كارثيًا، وتشمل بعض المشكلات الشائعة ما يلي:

  • تقرحات/إصابات القصبة: هذه إصابة شائعة في خيول السباق الصغيرة ناتجة عن الضغط المفرط على العظام مما يؤدي إلى كسور صغيرة في عظم المدفع، والتي قد لا تكون ممعدنة بالكامل (تقوى وتصلب). ينتج عن هذا التهاب السمحاق (غشاء ليفي من النسيج الضام الذي يغطي عظم المدفع).
  • شظايا العظام: إصابة هيكلية شائعة أخرى في خيول السباق، تظهر في الغالب في المفاصل، وخاصة في الركبة. يحدث هذا عندما يحدث كسر صغير في المفصل، مما يضعف العظم وينتج عنه في النهاية انفصال “شريحة” من العظم.

عند محاولة زيادة قوة الهيكل العظمي، فإن فترات التمرين أو الراحة الأقل كثافة لا تقل أهمية عن العمل مع الفرس لأنها تمنح العظام فرصة لإعادة تشكيلها. ومع ذلك، فإن الراحة لفترات طويلة سيكون لها تأثير سلبي على صحة الهيكل العظمي. درست الأبحاث فقدان المحتوى المعدني للعظام في عظم المدفع عندما وضعت الخيول في صندوق الراحة (مع 30 دقيقة على المشاية) ووجدت أن المحتوى المعدني للعظام بشكل عام قد انخفض. لذلك، حتى الخيول التي تعود إلى العمل بعد فترة قصيرة من أسبوع إلى أسبوعين من الراحة في الصندوق يمكن أن تعاني من انخفاض كبير في كثافة العظام وبالتالي خطر إصابة الهيكل العظمي بمجرد استئناف التمرين.

من المهم أيضًا أن تضع في اعتبارك أنه عندما يبدأ الحصان الصغير في التدريب، فإنه عادة ما يتحرك 12 إلى 24 ساعة حيث يكون لديه القدرة على الجري واللعب. ومع ذلك، بمجرد بدء التدريب، تتوقف الساعات الطويلة للحركة ويمنح فترات قصيرة من التدريب منخفض الكثافة. وبالتالي، يمكن أن يحدث نزع تمعدن العظام. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، خلال هذه المرحلة المبكرة من التدريب، ستخضع العظام لدرجة كبيرة من إعادة التشكيل وهذه العملية في البداية تجعل العظام أكثر مسامية وهشة قبل أن تستعيد قوتها.

نتيجة لذلك، أظهرت الأبحاث أن الخيول يمكن أن تكون قد قللت من كثافة العظام خلال أول شهرين من التدريب، حيث تكون العظام في أضعف حالاتها ويكون الحصان أكثر عرضة لمشاكل مثل ألم القصبات بين اليوم 45-75 من التدريب.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أنه حتى عند إجراء التدريب ببطء، يمكن أن تحدث حالات مثل التهاب القصبة حيث تحدث إعادة تشكيل العظام بمعدلات مختلفة في كل حصان وتتأثر بعوامل مثل سطح المضمار وتصميمه. في حين أن هناك بعض المعلومات حول التمرينات وتطور العظام التي يمكن من خلالها التوصل إلى استنتاجات، إلا أنه لم يتم العثور على إجابة محددة بشأن المقدار المثالي من التمارين لدعم النمو الأمثل للعظام.

التمرين ضروري لصحة العظام، لكن التغذية تلعب دورًا مهمًا بنفس القدر. يتم تقوية العظام وإصلاحها واستبدالها باستمرار، وإذا تمكنا من المساعدة في إعادة تشكيل العظام بالتغذية الجيدة، فيمكننا تقليل احتمالية إصابة الهيكل العظمي. العناصر الغذائية الأساسية لصحة العظام هي البروتين والمعادن والفيتامينات، بما في ذلك الكالسيوم والفوسفور والزنك والنحاس وفيتامينات أ و د و ك.

البروتين: الكولاجين هو بروتين ويشكل المصفوفة العظمية التي تترسب عليها المعادن. لذلك فإن تقديم البروتين عالي الجودة، الغني بالأحماض الأمينية الأساسية مثل ليسين وميثيونين، عامل أساسي في تطوير عظام قوية وصحية.

الكالسيوم والفوسفور: من المعروف أن هذه المعادن الأساسية هي أساس عظام قوية وصحية، وتشكل 70٪ من المحتوى المعدني للعظام. نسبة الكالسيوم والفوسفور في النظام الغذائي هي أيضا مهمة جدا لتمعدن العظام. وذلك لأن الاختلالات في نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نزع الكالسيوم من الهيكل العظمي وقد تؤدي إلى نزع المعادن من العظام. يجب أن يكون الحد الأدنى لنسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفسفور في النظام الغذائي 1.5: 1، مع أن تكون النسبة المثالية 2: 1 على الأقل للخيول الصغيرة. من المهم أن نلاحظ أن إضافة علف آخر مثل القش أو الحبوب إلى علف الحصان يمكن أن يغير نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور في النظام الغذائي العام. على سبيل المثال، إضافة الشوفان، الغني بالفوسفور، سيقلل من نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور وهذا قد يؤثر سلبًا على امتصاص الكالسيوم. من ناحية أخرى، فإن إدخال بعض البرسيم الحجازي، الذي يحتوي على نسبة عالية من الكالسيوم، يمكن أن يساعد في زيادة نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور إذا لزم الأمر.

النحاس والزنك: النحاس معدن مهم لنمو العظام والمفاصل والأنسجة الضامة. أما أوكسيديز ليسيل فهو إنزيم يتطلب النحاس. إنه مسؤول عن الارتباط المتبادل للكولاجين وبالتالي يلعب النحاس دورًا مهمًا في تكوين عظام جديدة تتطلب مصفوفة الكولاجين. وبالمثل، يشارك الزنك بشكل أساسي في دوران الغضاريف، وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن الخيول المدعمة بالزنك، كجزء من حزمة معدنية كاملة، زادت من كثافة المعادن في عظامها مقارنة بالخيول التي تتغذى على نظام غذائي غير مكمل. غالبًا ما يوجد نقص في النحاس والزنك في نظام غذائي يقتصر على الأعلاف فقط، وبالتالي يجب توفيرهما في شكل علف صلب أو مكمل.

الفيتامينات: يلعب عدد من الفيتامينات أدوارًا أساسية في صحة الهيكل العظمي. على سبيل المثال، يشارك فيتامين (أ) في تطوير بانيات العظم، وهي الخلايا المسؤولة عن تكوين عظام جديدة، في حين أن فيتامين (د) ضروري لامتصاص الكالسيوم. أظهرت المزيد من الأبحاث أن تناول فيتامين ك يحسن إنتاج هرمون أوستيوكالسين، وهو الهرمون المسؤول عن تسهيل التمثيل الغذائي للعظام والتمعدن. علاوة على ذلك، تشير الأبحاث التي أجريت على الخيول الأصيلة البالغة من العمر عامين إلى أن توفير فيتامين ك في طعامها قد يساعد في زيادة كثافة المعادن في العظام، وبالتالي قد يكون مفيدًا لتقليل حدوث التهاب السيقان.

صُممت أعلاف شركة كونوليز ريدميلز خصيصًا للمساعدة في دعم صحة العظام. توفر جميع أعلافنا بروتينًا عالي الجودة من فول الصويا، وهو مصدر غني للأحماض الأمينية الأساسية مثل اللايسين. تضمن حزمة Pro Balance vitamin and mineral التي نقدمها، حصول خيولك على المستويات المثلى والنسب الصحيحة من المعادن والفيتامينات الأساسية مثل الكالسيوم والفوسفور والنحاس والفيتامينات أ و د و ك.

Care Range With Ultra

مكملات صحة العظام

تستفيد الخيول الصغيرة في التدريب، والتي تتعافى من الإصابة أو تعود من العمل بعد الراحة، من الدعم الغذائي الإضافي الذي يهدف إلى الحفاظ على تحسين صحة العظام. في هذه الحالات، نوصي بإضافة Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan  إلى الحصة. وهو مكمل بودرة ممتاز يحتوي على كالسيوم عالي التوفر مع نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور 2.4: 1. كما أنه يحتوي على الكولاجين البحري الغني بالكولاجين من النوع الأول والثاني والبروتيوغليكان والجليكوزامينوجليكان وكلها تساعد في عملية إعادة تشكيل العظام وتساعد في الحفاظ على صحة العظام. كما يحتوي على النحاس والزنك المخلبي، وكذلك فيتاميني أ و د لدعم تمعدن العظام. أخيرًا، يشتمل Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan على الكلينوبتيلوليت، وهو السيليكا العضوية، حيث أظهرت الأبحاث أن هذا قد يؤثر بشكل إيجابي على كثافة العظام ويحسن إنتاج الكولاجين.

Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan

إن فهم كيفية زيادة قوة العظام وصحتها من خلال الجمع بين التدريب المناسب والتغذية الجيدة أمر بالغ الأهمية. إذا كان لديك أي أسئلة أو تريد معرفة المزيد حول كيف يمكن للتغذية أن تدعم صحة العظام، فتواصل مع فريق خبراء التغذية لدينا.

 

Related Products

logo
اسأل خبراءنا

#FeedYourDesireToWin

Strong, healthy bones are the foundation for racehorse soundness. Skeletal injuries are a huge cause for concern in the racing industry. Trainers, owners, and vets are constantly looking to improve training programs and identify any potential gaps in the horse’s diet to help minimise and prevent skeletal injuries. To do this it is important to understand how bone is formed and how it adapts with training.

There are many factors involved in the production of strong bones (for example genetics), however, the two key factors that we can influence are nutrition and training. Strong healthy bones cannot develop without a suitable training regime and good nutrition. In this article, we are going to look at bone development and how optimal nutrition, plus appropriate exercise, can positively affect bone density.

Bone Formation & Remodelling

Bone formation occurs by a process of endochondral ossification; this is where soft cartilage cells are transformed into hard bone cells. Bone is comprised of three types of cells and an extracellular matrix. This extracellular matrix is made mainly from the protein collagen, which makes up to 30% of mature bone and is a key element in connective tissue and cartilage. The three types of cells in bone are:

  • Osteoblasts: These are the cells that lay down the extracellular matrix and are responsible for the growth and mineralisation/ hardening of bone.
  • Osteoclasts: These cells are involved in the breakdown of bone, so it can be replaced by new stronger bone.
  • Osteocytes: These cells work to maintain and strengthen the bones when a bone required modelling or remodelling.
Bone Mineral Content (BMC) is a measure of the amount of mineral in bone and is an accurate way of measuring the strength of a bone. Interestingly, about 70% of bone strength is due to its mineral content and calcium makes up 35% of bone structure. A horse’s bones do not fully mature until they are about 5-6 years old. So, whilst a horse will have reached 94% of their mature height when they are a yearling, but they will have only reached 76% of their total BMC.
Although it may seem like mature bone is inert it is in fact a highly dynamic tissue, and BMC is constantly adapting in response to exercise and rest, by a process called remodelling.

Bone remodelling is a complex process involving several hormones and nutrients. Essentially when mature bone ages or is placed under stress, such as exercise, small amounts of damage occurs. This results in the osteoclast cells removing the old or damaged bone tissue. In turn this triggers the osteoblast cells to repair the bone by lay down collagen and minerals over the area, thus strengthening the bones. It’s estimated that 5% of the horse’s total bone mass is replaced (remodelled) each year. It should be noted that during the remodelling process, bone is in a weakened state. Therefore, if during this period, the load applied to the bones exceeds the rate at which they can adapt, injuries such as sore shins can occur.

Bone Strength & Exercise

When galloping a horse places up to three times its body weight in force on the lower limbs. The more load or pressure put on a bone, the greater the bone remodelling that will take place. Ultimately, this will result in new, stronger bone being formed.

Studies have shown that correct exercise can increase in bone density in the cannon bone, the knee, and sesamoid bones and that this can help reduce the likelihood of skeletal injury. However, the intensity of training is key. Low intensity exercise (trotting) whilst essential for muscle development have been shown to only result in small change in cannon bone density. Whereas training at high speeds for a short amount of time (sprinting), rather than repetitive slow galloping, have shown to result in a significant increase in bone density. This is highlighted in a study using a treadmill where short periods of galloping at speeds over 27mph (43 km/hour) were associated with a 4-5% increase in the density of the cannon bone.

Whilst exercise clearly plays a pivotal role in bone density, doing too much too soon can be disastrous and some of the common issues caused include:

  • Sore/ Buck shins: This is a common injury in young racehorses. It is caused by excessive pressure on the bones resulting in tiny fractures on the cannon bone, which may not have fully mineralised (strengthen and hardened). This results in the periosteum (a fibrous membrane of connective tissue covering the cannon bone) becoming inflamed.
  • Bone chips: Another common skeletal injury in racehorses, mostly seen in joints, particularly in the knee. This is when a tiny fracture occur in the joint, weakening the bone and ultimately resulting in a ‘chip’ of the bone becoming separated.

When trying to maximise skeletal strength, periods of lower intensity exercise or rest are just as important as gallop work as they give the bone a chance to remodel. However, prolonged rest will have a negative effect on skeletal health. Research has looked at the loss of BMC in the cannon bone when horses were placed on box-rest (with 30 minutes on the walker) and found overall BMC was reduced. Therefore, even horses returning to work after a short period of 1-2 weeks of box-rest could potentially have a significant decline in bone density and therefore be at increased risk of skeletal injury once exercise recommences.

It’s also important to bear in mind that when a young horse starts training, they are normally coming from 12-24 hour turn out where they have ability gallop and play. However, once training begins, they are typically stabled from long hours with short intervals of low intensity training. Consequently, bone de-mineralisation can occur. In addition, during this early stage of training bone will undergo a significant degree of remodelling and this process initially makes the bone more porous and fragile before they regain their strength.

As a result, research has shown that horses can have reduced bone density during the first 2 months of training, with bones being at their weakest and the horse more prone to issues such as sore shins between at day 45-75 of training.
It should be noted that even when training is carried out slowly, conditions such as sore shins can still happen as bone remodelling occurs at different rates in every horse and is influenced by factors such as track surface and design. While there is some information on exercise and bone development from which to make inferences, a definitive answer as to the perfect amount of exercise to support optimal bone development has not yet been found.

Nutrition & Bone Health

Exercise is essential to bone heath, but nutrition plays an equally important role. Bone is continuously being strengthened, repaired, and replaced, and if we can aid bone remodelling with good nutrition, we can decrease the likelihood of skeletal injury. The essential nutrients for bone health are protein, minerals, and vitamins, including calcium (Ca), phosphorus (P), zinc (Zn) copper (Cu), vitamin A, D and K.

Protein: Collagen is a protein and forms the bony matrix on which minerals are deposited. Feeding sufficient highquality protein, rich in essential amino acids such lysine and methionine, is therefore a key factor in the development of strong healthy bones.

Calcium & Phosphorus: It is well documented that these essential minerals are the foundation of strong and healthy bones, making up 70% of the BMC. The ratio of calcium and phosphorus in the diet is also very important for bone mineralisation. This is because imbalances in the Ca:P ratio can result in the removal of calcium from the skeleton and may lead to bone demineralisation. The minimum Ca:P ratio in the diet should be 1.5:1, with the ideal ratio being at least 2:1 for young horses. It is important to note that adding other feedstuffs such as chaffs or cereals to the horse’s feed can alter the calcium to phosphorus ratio in the overall diet. For example, adding oats, which are high in phosphorus, will reduce the calcium to phosphorus ratio and this may adversely affect calcium absorption. On the other hand, including some alfalfa, which is high in calcium, can help to increase in the calcium to phosphorus ratio if required.

Copper & Zinc: Copper is an important mineral for bone, joint, and connective tissue development. Lysyl Oxidase is an enzyme which requires copper. It is responsible for cross-linking of collagen and therefore copper plays an important role in the formation of new bone which requires collagen matrix. Similarly, zinc is integrally involved in cartilage turnover and research has shown that horses supplemented with zinc, as part of a complete mineral package, have increased bone mineral density compared to horses fed an unsupplemented diet. Copper and zinc are frequently found to be deficient in a forage-only diet and therefore must be provided in the form of a hard feed or supplement.

Vitamins: A number of vitamins play essential roles in skeletal health. For example, vitamin A is involved in the development of osteoblasts, the cells responsible for laying down new bone, whilst vitamin D is needed for calcium absorption. More resent research has also shown that feeding vitamin K improves the production of osteocalcin, the hormone responsible for facilitating bone metabolism and mineralisation. Furthermore, research in two-year-old Thoroughbreds suggests that feeding vitamin K may help to increase bone mineral density and thus potential be beneficial for decreasing the incidence of sore shins.

Connolly’s RED MILLS feeds have been specifically formulated to help support bone health. All our feeds provide high quality protein from soya, which is a rich source of essential amino acid such as lysine. Our Pro Balance vitamin and mineral package ensures your horses receive optimal levels and the correct ratios of essential minerals and vitamins such as calcium, phosphorus, copper, vitamins A, D and K.

Care Range With Ultra

Supplementation for Bone Health

Young horses in training, those recovering from injury or returning from work following a rest will benefit from additional nutritional support targeted at maintaining improving bone health. In these situations, we recommend adding Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan to the ration. This is a superior powdered supplement containing highly available calcium with a calcium to phosphorus ratio of 2.4:1. It also contains marine collagen, which is rich in type I and II collagen, proteoglycans and glycosaminoglycans all of which aid the bone remodeling process and help to maintain bone health. Chelated copper and zinc, as well as vitamins A and D are included to support bone mineralization. Finally, Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan also includes clinoptilolite, an organic silica, as research has shown that this may positively affect bone density and improve the synthesis of collagen.

Foran Equine Osteo-Glycan

Understanding how to increase and maximise bone strength and health by combining appropriate training and good nutrition is crucial. If you have any questions or want to know more about how nutrition can support bone health, get in touch with our team of expert nutritionists.

 

logo
Ask Our Experts

#FeedYourDesireToWin

user
About the Expert

user
About the Expert