Liam Keogh filled the top two places in the Open and Advanced Open Derby at the Connolly’s Red Mills AIRC National Show Jumping Championships at Mullingar Equestrian Centre last Sunday.

The Mo Chara rider jumped two of the four clear rounds over Michael Keaveney’s 16 fence track with 18 jumping efforts. His time was streets ahead of his rivals as he crossed the finish line in a time of 97.04 on Queen Ruby to reclaim the title he last won in 2017 on his 17-year-old chestnut mare.

The Enfield resident was just slightly slower on his other horse, Tara Emerald, a nine-year-old grey gelding who posted a time of 97.31 to take the top two places for the Kildare based club.

Erin Morris completed the podium after the North Cork rider produced a clear round on Freedom D’Elle in a time of 106.26.

Jennifer Kehoe notched up another victory in the derby ring having last won the Intermediate Derby in 2017, however the Carne rider claimed the Advanced Intermediate derby on this occasion.

Just 4 of the 22 starters managed to leave all of the fences intact with Kehoe coming out on top after Westwinds Mr Cool, a 13-year-old- grey gelding, stopped the clock on 106.38.

The Bridgetown based rider had a comfortable winning margin over second placed Carmel Seaver who was over four seconds slower on Floody’s Bill, a 16-year-old bay gelding, on 110.45 to claim the runners-up slot. Donal Kenneally was third on Killea Treacle for Devils Bit in a time of 111.31.

Orla Clarke won the Intermediate derby at the second time of asking. The Ashbrook rider finished outside the top six last year but went on to claim the spoils after the Dublin based rider was fastest of the five clear rounds in the competition which had 25 starters.

Her 18-year-old grey gelding, Jon James, crossed the line in a time of 115.01 which left her over one second to spare over Slieve Blooms Eileen Landy on Star of Coolattin with a time of 116.94. Carne’s Gemma Cousins completed the podium on Bridgetown Dancer in a time of 118.53.

Julie Polden finished best of the 15 starters in the Advanced Primary Accumulator. The Cill Dara rider was among six riders who completed the track with maximum points but was just one second off the optimum time to claim the honours on her 12-year-old bay mare, Kilnoe Clover.

Sue Moles was a further 0.71 adrift of the target to take second place on Captain James T Hook for Mosstown.

Only two riders achieved maximum points in the primary division where Cheryl Keogh claimed the spoils on Gers Shanakill Daisy. The Devils Bit rider was just 2.06 seconds off the target with Mosstown’s Orlaigh Proctor taking second place on The Tangler.